Other Useful Web Sites

INTERNET QUICK REFERENCE GUIDE

Search Engines

Google

google.com

Alta Vista (Search phrases)

www.altavista.com

Yahoo (500,000 Sites Indexed by humans)

www.yahoo.com

HotBot (Index of 56 million web sties and newsgroups)

www.hotbot.com

Infoseek (Search 2 million web sites, newsgroups, company & association records, e-mail lists)

www.infoseek.com

Lycos (70 million sites, search for images, pictures, and sound files)

www.lycos.com

Magellan (Search huge categories and directories of sites that have been rated and reviewed)

www.mckinley.com

Webcrawler (2.5 million sites and numerous site reviews)

www.webcrawler.com

MetaCrawler (You can search several other engines simultaneously)

www.metacrawler.com

Four11 (White pages)

www.four11.com

Deja News (Search 25,000 newsgroups)

www.dejanews.com

 

GENERAL RESEARCH

Bartlett familiar quotes - www.columbia.edu/acis/bartleby/bartlett/

Roget's online thesaurus - www.thesaurus.com

Government documents - www.usa.gov

Business database, 16 million - www.zip2.com

Postal rate information - www.usps.gov

Reference Desk, 10,000 links and 270 engines - www.refdesk.com

Census Bureau - www.census.gov

Thomas Register - www.thomasregister.com

Federal Statistics - www.fedstats.com

Internet Yellow Pages - www.yellow.com

Calendar & holidays - www.timeanddate.com/calendar

 

STATISTICAL RESEARCH

American Demographics - www.demographics.com

Census Bureau - www.census.gov

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics - www.bls.gov/

Bureau of Economic Analysis - www.bea.gov/

AT&T Business Networks - www.business.att.com/

Market Research Center - www.asiresearch.com/

Princeton University Survey - http://www.princeton.edu/~psrc/

Simba Net, Focuses Examines and analyzes developments - www.simbanet.com/

 

RESEARCHING PATENTS & TRADEMARKS

US Patent & Trademark Office - www.uspto.gov

MicroPatent - www.micropat.com/static/index.htm

Thomson & Thomson - www.thomson-thomson.com

 

ASSOCIATION RESEARCH

American Society of Association Executive - www.asaenet.org/

 

TRADE SHOWS

Trade Show Central - www.tscentral.com/

Expo Guide - www.expo-guide.com/

Expo Web - www.expoweb.com/

 

LIBRARY

Electric Library - www.elibrary.com/

Internet Public Library - www.ipl.org

Michigan Electronic Library - http://mel.org/SPT--BrowseResourcesNewMeL.php

Library of Congress - www.loc.gov/

St. Joseph Public Library Database - sjcpl.lib.in.us/

WWW Virtual Library - http://vlib.org/

 

ONLINE NEWSPAPERS

Atlanta Journal Constitution - www.ajc.com/

Boston Globe - www.globe.com/

Chicago Sun-Times - www.suntimes.com/

Chicago Tribune - www.chicago.tribune.com/

Financial Times - www.ft.com/

Houston Chronicle - www.chron.com//

London Times - www.the-times.co.uk/

Los Angeles Times - www.latimes.com

Miami Herald - www.herald.com/

New York Times - www.nytimes.com

St. Louis Post Dispatch - www.stltoday.com/

USA Today - www.usatoday.com/

Washington Post - www.washingtonpost.com

Washington Times - www.WashTimes-weekly.com/

Numerous Listing Of Newspapers - www.newspapers.com/

 

INDEXES

Master list of ISPs - www.thelist.com

CNet - www.cnet.com/Content/Reviews/Compare/ISP

Master list of domain names - www.netnames.com

Master list of chatrooms - http://kongregate.wikia.com/wiki/List_of_Chat_RoomsMaster

Master search engine list - www.search.com

 

WEATHER

National Weather Service - www.nws.noaaa.com

AccuWeather - www.accuweather.com

The Weather Channel - www.weather.com

Win Weather - http://cws.internet.com/file/11687.htm

 

FREE E-MAIL

Gmail - www.gmail.com

Yahoo - mail.yahoo.com

Hotmail - www.hotmail.com

 

MAPS

CitySearch - www.citysearch.com

MapQuest - www.mapquest.com

Mapblast - www.mapblast.com

Google Maps - www.maps.google.com

 

TRAVEL

Biztravel.com - www.biztravel.com

Travelocity - www.travelocity.com

World Travel Guide - www.worldtravelguide.net/

 

REGISTERING WEB DOMAIN

Internic - www.internic.net

Go Daddy - www.godaddy.com

Register.com - www.register.com

Dotster.com - www.dotster.com/

 

FREE WEB PAGE SOFTWARE

ToolBox - www.toolbox.com

Tripod - www.tripod.com

 

FREE ANTI-VIRUS SOFTWARE

VirusScan - www.mcafee.com

Norton - www.symantec.com

Integrity Master - www.stiller.com/

AntiVirus Resources - www.hitchhikers.net/av.shtml

IBM AntiVirus - www.av.ibm.com/current/FrontPage

Computer Virus Help Desk - www.indyweb.net/virusspyware/virus_spyware.html

 

COMPANY DATABASE ONLINE

Dunn & Bradstreet, 60,000 U.S. companies online - www.dnb.com

Hoover's Online, 10,000 companies - www.hoovers.com/

Wall Street Research Net, 140,000 business links - www.wsrn.com/

Yahoo business online - //biz.yahoo.com/

Security & Exchange Commission, information on publicly traded companies - www.sec.gov/

Edgar Online - www.edgar-online.com/

 

Company & Industry PR News Releases

PR Newswire - www.prnewswire.com/services/

Business Wire - www.businesswire.com/

Canada NewsWire-www.newswire.ca/

 

Business News (All Types)

MSNBC - www.msnbc.com

Yahoo! News - www.yahoo.com/business/

Business Journals - www.bizjournals.com

Crain's New York Business - www.crainsny.com/

 

Business Magazines

Business Week - www.businessweek.com

Worth - www.worth.com/

Investor Business Daily - www.investors.com/

Kiplinger Online - www.kiplinger.com

Inc. Online - www.inc.com

Forbes - www.forbes.com

Marketing Database - www.marketing.com